top of page

HOW DO YOU SELF-SOOTHE?



A Self-soothing Recipe for Nighttime Freak-Outs

Having an anxiety disorder sometimes means that I get to wake up in the middle of the night feeling high anxiety or the beginning of a panic attack. These episodes can be triggered by real or imaginary concerns and fears. One way or the other, that’s certainly not the best way to spend my time in bed at night, especially when I should be healing and recovering my energy through peaceful sleep.


One of the most effective methods I employ to trick my mind into relaxing and falling back asleep is the same technique I started using years ago to help release sciatica and osteoarthritis pain: I soothingly guide myself to sleep with positive affirmations (silently, in my mind), as a form of self-hypnosis.


Although my affirmations are customized to different circumstances, I usually start repeating something along these lines, as I take deep breaths:


“I am not my body... I am not my aches and pains or health conditions...

I am not my mind...

I am not my fears...

I am beyond my mind and physical body...

I am health... I am wellness... I am wholesomeness...

I am perfect in my imperfection...

I am loved... I am loved... I am loved...

I am love... I am love... I am love...

I AM... I AM... I AM...”


Occasionally, depending on the level of anxiety, I have to repeat this exercise more than once to achieve the desired effect. More often than not, however, I fall asleep in the middle of the first set, as I start relaxing and feeling relief from anxiety and physical pain.


This simple technique is just as effective for daytime anxiety or panic. Although it’s often recommended that hypnotic suggestions are made as affirmations, rather than stated in the negative, in this case it feels empowering to first acknowledge limiting beliefs by denying them, and then affirm that which is true.


What self-soothing techniques are effective for you?


© Gisele Marasca-Vargas; 04/21/22


Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page