top of page

THE BUTTERFLY CONNECTION - Part II

Updated: Feb 21



…And Then You Die

Sometime ago I had a beautiful experience helping to save a butterfly (The Butterfly Connection). Just a few days later, when I went outside to feed my rescue cats as usual, I noticed a torn piece of butterfly wing a couple of feet from where I was standing, on the concrete pad where I place the food. My heart sank. And as I instinctively looked down, I saw the dead body of a butterfly, belly up, partially torn up. Right there, by my feet, as if it was meant for me to see it and suffer for seeing it. At least, that’s how I interpreted at the time. Of course, I could had simply accepted the facts that it was butterfly season and we have several TNR cats around who like to hunt. They also like to present us with the occasional “gift” in appreciation for our services to them. I could have felt even more appreciation for the fact that I got to save a butterfly just a week before, and made peace with the fact that, unfortunately, you can’t save them all. It’s life. Death happens. Moving on.


Instead, I took that as a slap on the face by the “powers from above.” And the very same high I had felt just a week before shifted to the other end of the spectrum and turned into a deep low.


Enlightened and unattached much? Still a long way to go, I’m afraid… It actually took me several months to get out of that resistant mode and feel like writing this blog article after that incident, which is an indicator of how much easier it was to relate with the happy ending story vs. the one that ended with loss and death.


But at this point in my life, I finally find myself inching closer to acceptance and understanding in relation to the subject of death (or so I hope)… My conclusion (other than the fact that acceptance of the good, the bad and ugly in life is easier said than done) is this: Life keeps trying to teach us balance. It’s about understanding both ends of the spectrum. It’s about realizing that, much more often than we’d like to admit, we are not in control of external circumstances; only how we react to them. It’s about accepting that without death there’s no life, and vice-versa. It’s about acknowledging, as the Kybalion’s Principle of Polarity teaches, that good and bad, happy and sad, love and hate, etc, aren’t so much opposites, as they are extreme ends of the same pole.


So one day you save the life of a butterfly; another day you witness another butterfly’s death, and come face to face with the fact that there was nothing you could do. And it’s all part of life’s beautiful dance. It’s as simple as that (or should be)... Being able to understand and accept one of life’s most basic principles (or enjoying the learning process) is the key to having a joyful and fulfilled existence.


© Gisele Marasca-Vargas; 04/30/2019


References:

THE BUTTERFLY CONNECTION - About Our Role In Others’ Lives


The Kybalion - The Seven Hermetic Principles

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page