top of page

COLORING BOOKS FOR ADULTS: Really? Yes, Really...


More Than a Fad

When I first started noticing the "coloring books for adults" fad, I couldn't help but think: "Really? What other gimmicks will they come up with next?" Well, little did I know then that I was about to become a big fan of the whole idea...not to mention a coloring book addict.


As soon as I decided to set aside my "I'm too old for this and I don't want to look ridiculous" attitude, I remembered a transformational psychology class I had in school which required that I chose my favorite activity from when I was a child, practiced it for a week and then reported on it. Which activity did I choose? Coloring. I still remember the wonderful feelings I had from reconnecting with my childhood that way: the sense of freedom, of childlike innocence, of pure and simple joy...


But that's just one of the many benefits you might notice when you start coloring books on a regular basis. This activity is not only fun; it helps you get in touch with your artistic, creative side, and you might find yourself using that creativity at home and at work. One of the clients to whom I recommended it mentioned that, after trying the coloring books for only one week, she was able to accomplish during that week the work that normally would have taken her about a month (creating new brochures, flyers and business forms for her company).


Among other advantages, coloring books can also help you de-stress, relieve anxiety and even achieve a meditative state. It calms the mind, allowing you to feel more centered and grounded. I have personally noticed its mood balancing effects, as well as an increased sense of joy and contentment. From an integrative care perspective, this activity has the potential to help improve your health in general, as the shapes and colors you choose are likely to be exactly the ones you need for the healing and balancing of your body, mind and spirit.


I didn't think I had time for this; now I make time for this because of its countless benefits. I have also recommended it to friends, family and several of my hypnotherapy/life coaching clients, and with great success.


Coloring therapy is often used with children and young adults by many therapists and health centers, and it's gradually becoming more common as part of the treatment of certain healthcare issues in adults, such as addiction recovery symptoms.


In short, coloring books are no joke!


© Gisele Marasca-Vargas; 02/23/2016


Image: Gisele's colorful interpretation with PrismaColor pencils of a design from the Posh Coloring Book - Pretty Designs for Fun and Relaxation


NOTE: This blog article was published on the April 2016 issues of Natural Awakenings - Central Florida/Orlando Edition, and this image was used on the cover (link below)


(Cover Article: Coloring Books for Adults: Really? Yes, Really…, pg. 17; Cover Artist: pg. 10)


References:

Coloring For Stress


Why Adult Coloring Books Are Good For You


Coloring Therapy

1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page